What I Have Realised About Trump and Brexit

I have spent a lot of time over the last couple of months becoming increasingly depressed about the state of the world. Brexit came and went with a campaign full of lies from both sides and then Trump defied all logic and reason to somehow become President of the United States. Over the last month or two, I have been trying to figure out why it has got to me so much. Brexit, while it does affect me, won’t start to have real repercussions for at least a few years (I am still banking on it being blocked somehow to be honest) and Trump is US President, not Northern Ireland’s First Minister.

Every day I wake up to more depressing news about Brexit or right wing parties gaining success across Europe. But none of them get to me in the way Trump’s election and subsequent cluster-fuck of lies, conflict of interest, nepotism, and sheer incompetence and ignorance do.

Now I think I have figured out what bothers me so much about it. Before this election I always believed that whether or not I agreed with the opposition parties in any election I followed, I was never scared for the future. Regardless of who won I felt like, maybe they were taking the world in a different direction to how I would pursue governing, but they had a clear direction and often a lot of experience in government. For example, I may not like Mitt Romney, but I respect him. I may not like John McCain, but I respect him. I may not like Gordon Brown, but again I respect him.

Trump has no convictions, no allegiances (other than his own family), no experience in government, and no idea how to run a business successfully, let alone a country. I always believed that regardless of who was governing, that they had an idea of what they were doing – whether I agreed with it or not. I thought that they must have worked hard, became experts in their fields, or at governance, but not Trump. The man talks like an 8 year old with an anger problem, one that has been media coached but forgets it all the second he gets in front of a camera or on Twitter.

Then the people who surround him, have done so because they want to ride the power train right to the top. They enabled him, and continue to enable him, to contradict all the campaign promises he made. After slamming politicians for being dishonest. He embodies everything he campaigned against and none of his supporters are willing to accept that. The level of hypocrisy has become elevated to a point where I don’t even know how you can talk to these people, they don’t even seem human. Mitch McConnell, Ted Cruz, Kellyanne Conway, Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, the list goes on of politicians and advisers that to me, have had all the humanity drained out of them. They can’t recognise truth from lie, and if they can, they are willingly peddling their lies to the masses and tell them it is fact. They have lost their conscience.

I don’t pretend to have an answer to this problem. In a world where fact has become “liberal slant” and white supremacists are put on the same level as activists pushing for a fairer and more inclusive country, I don’t know where you go.

Leave a Reply

